## Resumption of Cross-Border Travel and other measures October 30, 2020

1 Response to the needs of short-term cross-border business travelers who reside in Japan

From November 1, the Government of Japan (GOJ) will relax the 14-day quarantine at home or other designated locations, as in "Business Track," for Japanese Nationals and foreign nationals residing in Japan with the status of residence when they return to or reenter Japan after short-term business travels to all countries and regions, under the condition that the person is sponsored by a company/entity that can commit observation of quarantine measures (\*1).

- (\*1) Testing for COVID-19, refraining from using public transportation and keeping location data for 14 days, submitting the "Written Pledge" and the "Schedule of Activities in Japan" etc. (if traveling to the areas subject to the denial of permission to enter Japan for business purposes, the GOJ will ask to pledge to wear masks on the plane and during the 14 days after returning to Japan, and conduct health follow-ups by the hosting company/entity.). The GOJ will also ask to pledge to take thorough infection prevention measures by limiting the length of stay within 7 days (excluding the quarantine period) and the business activities to the necessary minimum at the business trip destination.
- 2 Removal of and additional designation of areas subject to the denial of permission to entry into Japan (\*2)
- (1) Removing the entire areas of countries and regions listed below from the designation of areas subject to the denial of permission to enter Japan based on the Immigration Control and Refugee Recognition Act (\*3). However, the GOJ may consider to redesignate the countries and regions as the areas subject to the denial of permission to enter Japan again depending on the status of infections of the country/region.

Australia, Singapore, Thailand, Republic of Korea, China (including Hong Kong and Macau). New Zealand. Brunei. Vietnam and Taiwan

(2) Designating the entire areas of countries listed below as areas subject to the denial of permission to enter Japan based on the Immigration Control and Refugee Recognition Act. Entry into Japan by foreign nationals who have visited the designated areas within the last 14 days will not be permitted unless there are special exceptional circumstances.

## Myanmar and Jordan

- (\*2) As a consequence of the aforementioned removal and additional designation, a total of 152 countries/regions are subject to the denial of permission to entry into Japan.
- (\*3) Existing measures for suspending visa exemption and suspending validity of issued visa will remain in place after the removal of areas mentioned in 2(1) from the designation of areas subject to the denial of permission to enter.

## 3 Strengthened quarantine measures and others

In principle, testing for COVID-19 will not be conducted for the cross-border travelers of countries and regions mentioned in 2 (1) above, under the condition that the person does not have the record of visiting the areas subject to the denial of permission to enter Japan within 14 days prior to their entry into Japan. Testing for COVID-19 will be conducted for those who arrive in Japan with the record of visiting the countries listed above in 2 (2) within 14 days prior to their entry into Japan.

## 4 Restriction on visa validity

Visa exemption measures with Australia, New Zealand, and Taiwan will be suspended. The application of Pre-Clearances (i.e. visa exemptions) granted by the GOJ to APEC Business Travel Card (ABTC) issued by the above-mentioned countries and region will also be suspended.

The measures described in 2, 3, and 4 will be implemented from 0:00 am (JST) on November 1 and will remain in place until further notice. The measures will also be applied to those who depart a country/region outside Japan before these measures become effective and then arrive in Japan after they become effective.