

Press Release (This is provisional translation. Please refer to the original text written in Japanese.)

May 11, 2011 Policy Planning and Communication Division, Inspection and Safety Division, Department of Food Safety

To Press and those who may concern,

Cancellation of Instruction to restrict distribution and consumption of foods concerned produced in parts of Fukushima Prefecture, in relation to the accident at Fukushima Nuclear Power Plant

•Based on the Act on Special Measures Concerning Nuclear Emergency Preparedness, Director-General of the Nuclear Emergency Response Headquarters has cancelled its Instruction on the restriction of distribution and consumption of following foods for Governor of Fukushima Prefecture.

- 1. Head type leafy vegetables produced in Northern area.
- 2. Flower head brassicas produced in Central area.
- 3. Head type leafy vegetables produced in Southern area.
- 4. Non-head type leafly vegetables produced in Aizu and Minamiaizu area.
- 1. With regard to Fukushima prefecture, the restriction of distribution and consumption of following foods instructed 21, 23 March, 27 April and 4 May was cancelled today.

Area	Item
Northern area (8 municipalities) ¹⁾	Head type leafy vegetables, e.g. cabbage
Central area (12 municipalities) ²⁾	Flower head brassicas e.g. broccoli
Southern area (9 municipalities) ³⁾	Head type leafy vegetables, e.g. cabbage
Aizu and Minamiaizu area (17 municipalities) ⁴⁾	Non-head type leafy vegetables, e.g. spinach

- 1) Northern area includes Fukushima-shi, Nihonmatsu-shi, Date-shi, Motomiya-shi, Kori-machi, Kunimi-machi, Kawamata-machi (excluding Yamakiya area) and Otama-mura.
- 2) Central area includes Koriyama-shi, Sukagawa-shi, Tamura-shi (excluding area within 20 km radius from the Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Plant), Kagamiishi-machi, Tenei-mura, Ishikawa-machi, Tamagawa-mura, Hirata-mura, Asakawa-machil, Furudono-machi, Miharu-machi and Ono-machi.
- Southern area includes Shirakawa-shi, Yabuki-machi, Tanagura-machi, Yamatsuri-machi, Hanawa-machi, Nishigo-mura, Izumizaki-mura, Nakajima-mura and Samegawa-mura.
- 4) Aizu and Minamiaizu area include Aizuwakamatsu-shi, Bandai-machi, Inawashiro-machi, Kitakata-shi, Kitashiobara-mura, Nishiaizu-machi, Aizumisato-machi, Aizubange-machi, Yugawa-mura, Yanaizu-machi, Mishima-machi, Kaneyama-machi, Showa-mura, Minamiaizu-machi, Shimogo-machi, Hinoemata-mura and Tadami-machi.

- (1) The Instruction of the Nuclear Emergency Response Headquarters is attached as attachment 1
- (2) The application of Fukushima Prefecture is attached as attachment 2
- 2. The list of cancelling status with regard to restriction of distribution of vegetables (Non-head type leafy vegetable, Head type leafy vegetable, Flower head barassicas and Turnip) in Fukushima Prefecture and the Instructions on the restriction of distribution and/or consumption of food concerned in accordance with the Act on Special Measures Concerning Nuclear Emergency Preparedness are attached as reference 1 and 2.

Attachment 2: omitted Reference 1: omitted Reference 2: omitted Instruction

11 May 2011

From Director-General of the Nuclear Emergency Response Headquarters To Governor of Fukushima Prefecture,

The Instruction to the Prefecture on May 4 2011 based on the Article 20.3 of the Act on Special Measures Concerning Nuclear Emergency Preparedness (Act No. 156, 1999) shall be changed as follows. Measures shall continue to be taken on the Instructions given April 20, 25 and May 1,9 without alternation:

- Restrictive requirements shall apply to heads of relevant municipalities, food business operators and residents not to consume and distribute any non-head type leafy vegetables produced in Fukushima Prefecture, except for that produced in Shirakawa-shi, Aizuwakamatsu-shi, Kitakata-shi, Iwaki-shi, Yabuki-machi, Tanagura-machi, Yamatsuri-machi, Hanawa-machi, Nishiaizu-machi, Bandai-machi, Inawashiro-machi, Aizubange-machi, Yanaizu-machi, Mishima-machi, Kanayama-machi, Aizumidori-machi, Shimogo-machi, Tadami-machi, Minamiaizu-machi, Nishigo-mura, Izumizaki-mura, Nakajima-mura, Samegawa-mura, Kitashiobara-mura, Yukawa-mura, Showa-mura and Hinoemata-mura for the time being.
- Restrictive requirements shall apply to heads of relevant municipalities, food business operators 2. and residents not to consume and distribute any head type leafy vegetables produced in Fukushima Prefecture, except for that produced in Fukushima-shi, Nihonmatsu-shi, Date-shi, Motomiya-shi, Koriyama-shi, Sukagawa-shi, Tamura-shi (excluding area within 20 km radius from the Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Plant), Shirakawa-shi, Aizuwakamatsu-shi, Kitakata-shi, Iwaki-shi, Kori-machi, Kunimi-machi, Kawamata-mura (excluding Yamakiya area), Kagamiishi-machi, Ishikawa-machi, Asakawa-machi, Furudono-machi, Miharu-machi, Ono-machi, Yabuki-machi, Yamatsuri-machi, Tanagura-machi, Hanawa-machi, Nishiaizu-machi, Bandai-machi, Inawashiro-machi, Aizubange-machi, Yanaizu-machi, Mishima-machi, Kanayama-machi, Aizumidori-machi, Shimogo-mura, Tadami-machi, Minamiaizu-machi, Otama-mura, Tenei-mura, Tamagawa-mura, Hirata-mura, Nishigo-mura, Izumizaki-mura, Nakajima-mura, Samegawa-mura, Kitashiobara-mura, Yukawa-mura, Showa-mura and Hinoemata-mura, for the time being.
- 3. Restrictive requirements shall apply to heads of relevant municipalities, food business operators and residents not to consume and distribute any flowerhead brassicas produced in Fukushima prefecture, except for that produced in Koriyama-shi, Sukagawa-shi, Tamura-shi (excluding area within 20 km radius from the Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Plant), Shirakawa-shi, Iwaki-shi, Kagamiishi-machi, Ishikawa-machi, Asakawa-machi, Furudono-machi, Miharu-machi, Ono-machi, Yabuki-machi, Tanagura-machi, Yamatsuri-machi, Hanawa-machi, Tenei-mura, Tamagawa-mura, Hirata-mura, Nishigo-mura, Izumizaki-mura, Nakajima-mura and Samegawa-mura, for the time

being.

4. Restrictive requirements shall apply to heads of relevant municipalities and food business operators not to distribute any turnips produced in Fukushima Prefecture, except for that produced in Fukushima-shi, Nihonmatsu-shi, Date-shi, Motomiya-shi, Koriyama-shi, Sukagawa-shi, Tamura-shi (excluding area within 20 km radius from the Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Plant), Iwaki-shi, Kori-machi, Kunimi-machi, Kawamata-machi (excluding Yamakiya area), Kagamiishi-machi, Ishikawa-machi, Asakawa-machi, Furudono-machi, Miharu-machi, Ono-machi, Otama-mura, Tenei-mura, Tamagawa-mura and Hirata-mura, for the time being.